About Us

Mary Andreas started running Hayhoull B&B in Spring 2010, after returning to Shetland in 2006. The original house at Hayhoull was built by Mary’s father, Laurie Leask, and was extended to add accommodation suitable for holiday makers, which takes full advantage of the wonderful views of the village of Bigton.

The stunning photographs on the web site were supplied by several people: firstly views of Bigton by Mary’s nephew, Ben Mullay, (you can find these and many more on Ben’s web site, benmullay.com); Jim Nicolson, who is especially known for his amazing photos of migratory birds; Joe Kay, Mary’s brother in law, who has a great eye for a good photograph on any subject; and Alex Green, Mary’s son in law, who is a frequent visitor to Shetland.

Bigton is set on the south west side of the island, and includes the world famous St Ninian’s Isle, a small island linked to the mainland by a sand tombolo, the largest of its kind in Britain. The island was settled in pre-norse times and the remains of an old chapel are still visible. Treasure was discovered below the doorsteps of the chapel in 1958, and although the originals are stored in Edinburgh, replicas are on display in the Shetland Museum in Lerwick. The island is no longer inhabited by humans, but is home to many sheep, seabirds and countless rabbits! A walk around the island will take around 2 hours, or indeed the whole day, depending on the weather and what people like to sit and watch !